Grand Rapids Symphony presents Prokofiev Violin Concerto

Grand Rapids Symphony presents Prokofiev Violin Concerto

Copland Statements for Orchestra
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2
Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 4

David Lockington Conductor  | Dylana Jensen Violin


Our Music Director Laureate David Lockington returns for a program rooted firmly in one momentous year of the 20th century, 1935.  Crowning these concerts is music from maestro Lockington’s native England, one of the most powerful symphonies of Ralph Vaughan Willams. When the symphony was premiered, the storm clouds of war were gathering again over Europe. The symphony is filled with a dark, brooding energy that has led many writers to call it a premonition of the cataclysm to come.

No such clouds hover over the serene and elegant Second Violin Concerto of Prokofiev written in the same year. Premiered in Paris, the concerto has echoes of Spain and a cool brilliance. Aaron Copland completed his Statements for Orchestra in 1935, though it wasn’t premiered until 1942 as World War II was raging across Europe,. In several short sections, Statements is a virtuoso showpiece for orchestra that ends with a movement full of thoughts of the world to come, called ‘Prophetic.’


Ticket prices start at $18. Get your tickets early! Ticket prices may fluctuate based on demand. Additional fees will apply. Purchase tickets at the DeVos Place and Van Andel Arena box offices, or charge by phone at 1-800-745-3000. 

Event Times:
Fri, Mar 2, 2018
8:00 PM
Sat, Mar 3, 2018
8:00 PM
Add to CAL: