Grand Rapids Symphony presents All-Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky "Polonaise" from Eugene Onegin
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor  | Gabriela Montero Piano


He is easily one of the most beloved of all classical music composers, adored by newcomers and seasoned concert goers alike. There is something for everyone in Tchaikovsky, and our Music Director has chosen three works from the zenith of Tchaikovsky’s career for these concerts. Tchaikovsky’s most popular opera, Eugene Onegin, conjures up the lost world of the Tsars and Russian aristocracy. The Polonaise from the party scene in the opera is a brilliant orchestral showpiece. The first piano concerto, performed by the exquisite and master interpretive pianist Gabriela Montero, thrills with its famous double octaves, its superhuman runs and the sheer beauty of its melodies. The Fifth Symphony with its recurring musical motive of fate and one of the most breathtakingly soulful French horn solos in all classical music, concludes the concert.


Ticket prices start at $18. Get your tickets early! Ticket prices may fluctuate based on demand. Additional fees will apply. Purchase tickets at the DeVos Place and Van Andel Arena box offices, or charge by phone at 1-800-745-3000. 

Event Times:
Fri, Jan 12, 2018
8:00 PM
Sat, Jan 13, 2018
8:00 PM
Add to CAL: